

Policing Authority Welcomes Nomination by Government of Four New Authority Members

09 February 2021

The Policing Authority welcomes the news that Government has today approved the nomination of four new Members to the Policing Authority following an open competition run by the Public Appointments Service. The four nominees are Shalom Binchy, Elaine Byrne, Dónal de Buitléir and Stephen Martin.

Policing Authority Chairperson, Bob Collins said:

"I am pleased to welcome the approval of nominations for four new Members to the Authority, all of whom offer a great deal of expertise and experience. We look forward to consideration of the nominations by both Houses of the Oireachtas and to the Authority returning to its full complement of members in the coming weeks."

The next meeting in public between the Policing Authority and the Garda Commissioner will take place on Thursday 25 February. The meeting will be live-streamed on www.policingauthority.ie.